Sir Mason Durie

Rangitāne, Ngāti Kauwhata, Ngāti Raukawa

Emeritus Professor Sir Mason Durie KNZM, FNZAH, FRSNZ is one of New Zealand’s most respected academics, and was knighted in 2010 for services to public and Māori health. 

For over 40 years, Sir Mason has been at the forefront of a transformational approach to Māori health, including chairing the Taskforce on Whānau-Centred Initiatives that produced the Whānau Ora report for the Government in 2010.  He is a past Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Massey University. 

Sir Tīpene O'Regan

Ngāi Tahu

Tā Tīpene O’Regan was NPM's longest serving Board Chair before his retirement at the end of 2018, guiding the centre through 12 years of its operations. He is best known more widely for his role as Chairman of the Ngaitahu Maori Trust Board leading the Ngāi Tahu Claim process before the Waitangi Tribunal culminating in the Ngāi Tahu Settlement. He served on the board for 22 years, and was chair for thirteen of those years. As the chief negotiator, Te Kerēme (the Ngāi Tahu Claim) was his main kaupapa.

Emeritus Professor Ngahuia Te Awekotuku

Te Arawa, Tūhoe, Waikato

Emeritus Professor Ngahuia Te Awekotuku is Professor of Research at the School of Māori and Pacific Development, at the University of Waikato. With other degrees in Art History and English, her PhD (1981) was in psychology. This experience contributed to her writing an early (1991) monograph on Māori research ethics. For years she worked in the heritage and creative sectors, as a curator, governor, and activist/advocate. Her research interests include gender issues, museums, body modification, power and powerlessness, spirituality and ritual.