Celebrate New Māori Professors

A series of promotions have were announced at universities across Aotearoa New Zealand at the end of 2019, to bring to a conclusion a very busy and productive year.

NPM's congratulations go to the following:



University of Otago

  • Professor Joanne Baxter, Health Sciences Divisional Office
  • Professor Miles Lamare, Department of Marine Science
  • Professor Suzanne Pitama, Māori/Indigenous Health Institute (MIHI)
  • Associate Professor Louise Parr-Brownlie, Department of Anatomy
  • Associate Professor Anna Carr, Department of Tourism
  • Associate Professor Anne-Marie Jackson, School of Physical Education
  • Associate Professor Emma Wyeth, Department of Preventive and Social Medicine

Victoria University of Wellington

  • Professor Joanna Kidman, Te Kura Māori
University of Auckland
  • Associate Professor Ngarino Ellis, Faculty of Arts
  • Associate Professor Aroha Harris, Faculty of Arts
  • Associate Professor Te Kawehau Hoskins, Te Puna Wānanga-Faculty of Education and Social Work
Massey University
  • Associate Professor Margaret Forster, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Associate Professor Krushil Watene, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Eastern Institute of Technology
  • Adjunct Associate Professor Joe Te Rito
NPM celebrates the promotions of all Māori academics and researchers from across the motu, and apologises to anyone we may have missed in the above list.